Frequently Asked Questions

Here you will find answers to the most frequently asked questions, select from the below category dropdown.

I have a severe allergy, how do I know if I can consume your products?

Mondelēz International is aware of the seriousness of allergens, and takes great care in making sure its products are safe, wholesome and properly labeled. When labeling products, we consider the top allergens recognized by the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA).

These are the proteins from wheat, soy, peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs, fish/shellfish/crustaceans, sesame seeds, mustard, gluten sources and sulphites >10 ppm (often found in wine and dried fruits).

Mondelez Canada labels for more priority allergens in addition to the top allergens identified by the CFIA: celery, mollusk (i.e. oyster /clam), mustard, poppy seeds, cotton seeds, and sunflower seeds.

It is our policy to declare these ingredients on the label when they are present in our products regardless of whether declaration is required by regulation.

Do you use dedicated lines to manufacture your products?

No we do not have dedicated lines for all our products. We take special precautions to thoroughly clean and sanitize all our production lines between product changeovers on a line. We build these cleaning procedures into our safety systems to make sure there is no carryover from allergens; for example when switching from nut-containing products to ones without nuts.

If there is any risk of cross contamination we will label the allergen in the “may contains statement.

We have thoroughly researched all possible sources of the major allergens recognized by the Health Canada and have appropriately declared them on our labels.

Why are your products not made in Canada?

Across North America, we have several facilities that manufacture our great products. Be assured that regardless of origin, all ingredients used in our products comply with our rigorous food safety standards, which meet and in many cases exceed governmental food safety requirements.’

Are HALLS products recommended for children?

HALLS products are intended for use by children 5 years and over. For children less than 5 years old, please consult your doctor.

What color is Oreo: black or brown?

We do not have a color assigned to the cookie portion of an OREO. Some people think the OREO is a shade of brown, while others view the color closer to black.

Are Mondelēz products Halal Certified?

Halal Certification will depend on the country you live in, our brands are not Halal Certified in the US or Canada, always check the ingredients and the label to guarantee the suitability for your diet.